Brave Warriors aim to finish high … Ketjijere, Shalulile not available

Brave Warriors aim to finish high … Ketjijere, Shalulile not available

Brave Warriors will go to Senegal aiming to pull a surprise and hopefully finish on a high when they confront the West African giants in their 2017 CAF Afcon Group-K qualifier in Dakar on Saturday.

Namibia is already out of contention for the 2017 finals, as they sit with six points in third place but, according to coach Ricardo Mannetti, their objective going into Saturday’s match is to bow out with dignity and equally prove a point.

“I believe in defying the odds and this game gives us a chance to better history. Senegal has been dominant over our team and we now have a chance to go there and make sure we do better than the last time we lost 2-0 at home against them,” said Mannetti in an earlier interview with the NFA press desk.

Sadly, Brave Warriors captain Ronald Ketjijere and reliable striker Peter Shalulile were this week unfortunately forced to pull out of the team due to persisting injuries.

National team veteran Lazarus Kaimbi and Sydney Urikhob were not considered for this trip, as Mannetti feels he has enough stock to work with at the moment, while defender Willem Mwedihanga is yet to announce his availability.

“I believe in what I have to work with at the moment. Absalom Iimbondi, Oswaldo Xamseb and Itamunua Keimuine came in and worked very hard during Cosafa and I feel they have the drive to succeed. Willem is still to come back to me and inform me if he is ready to play. We are in a special situation since it’s off season still but once the leagues start and you don’t have a club, you are out,” explained Mannetti.

The 18 players in the squad are: Max Mbaeva (Golden Arrows), Virgil Vries (Maritzburg United), Da costa Angula (Unattached), Chris Katjiukua (Golden Arrows) Ferdinand Karongee (Tigers), Tiberius Lombard (Tura Magic), Edmund Kambanda( UNAM), Oswaldo Xamseb (Tura Magic), Deon Hotto (Bloemfontein Celtic), Hendrick Somaeb (Unattached), Petrus Shitembi(Unattached),Absalom Iimbondi(Tigers), Larry Horaeb (Black Africa), Ananias Gebhardt (Jomo Cosmos) Africa), Wangu Gome (Bidvest Wits),Benson Shilongo (Platinum Stars), Dynamo Fredericks (Black Africa) and Itamunua Keimuine (Tura Magic).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.