Gazza shines and Jericho makes a comeback at the Nama Awards

Gazza shines and Jericho makes a comeback at the Nama Awards


Namibia’s renowned recording kwaito artist, Lazurus Shimmi, aka Gazza, is the Male Artist of the Year, in the evening that saw hip-hop recording artist Jericho, real name Jerome Gawanab, making a comeback through a powerful performance and winning the Best Hip-Hop Artist of the Year. Gazza also bagged the Album of the Year for Pumumu, Best Collaboration Award for Abangani Bako ft Emtee and Saudi as well as the Prestigious Special Recognition Award at the Namibia Music Awards in Walvis Bay. Namibian singer and songwriter Elemontho G.R.

Mosimane, simply known as Elemontho, won the NAMAs Lifetime Achievement while Young T, real name Tulina Ndafyaalako walked away with the Best Kwaito Award for Fikulimwe sound track and the Song of the Year Award for Fesha featuriung Voster and Wizblack. Soul singer Doris Eiman took home the Best Afro Pop as well as the Best House Award.

Here is the list of the winners for NAMAs 2017

Best Album of the Year: Gazza – Pumumu

Best Female Artist of the Year: Monique English – Since 1994

Best Male Artist of the Year: Gazza – Pumumu

NAMA2017 Special Recognition Award: Gazza

Song of the Year: Young T – Fikulimwe

Best Oviritje: DIOP – Guitar Boy

Best Damara Punch: T-Bozz & Staika – //Nau !a ta ge ra sadu tsâsiba

Best Soukous/Kwasa: Oteya – Village Boy

Best Traditional: Christmas – Linima iiwanawa kiikala pamwe ft Kamati

Best Kwaito: Young T – Fesha ft Voster & Wizblack

Best Rap/Hip-Hop: Jericho – If Only

Best RnB: Micheal Pulse – When I Need Her

Best Afro Pop (inclusive of Township Disco): Doris – Boom

Best House: Doris – Jawbreaker

Best Collaboration: Gazza – Abangani Bako ft Emtee & Saudi

Best Duo/Group of the Year: House Guru Gang – Father Bless Us

Best Music Video: Oteya – All or Nothing

Pan African Artist of the Year: Cassper Nyovest


Best Gospel: Maranatha – In Your Presence

Best Afrikaans: Bradley Anthony – Ruk Hom

Best Reggae: Florence – African Child ft Ras Sheehama

Best Shambo: Satlam & M-Jay – Odula ft D-Kandjafa

Best Kizomba: Bradley Anthony – Amor ft Joe-Kay

Most Socially Responsible Artist of the Year: Lize Ehlers

Best Song with a Message: N.I.A – Change ft Monique English

Radio DJ of The Year: Lukas Nambala

Most Disciplined Artist of the Year: Adora

Entertainment Journalist of the Year NBC: June Shimuoshili

Best Musical Event of the Year: Doctatainment – Windhoek Spring Fiesta (All White Edition)

Best Live Performance of the Year: Maranatha – Benjamin Dube Show

Best Single: Sally Boss Madam – Natural

Best Producer of the Year: Sam E Lee Jones for Gazza – Pumumu

Radio Song of the Year: Sally Boss Madam – Natural

Lifetime Achievement Award: Elemotho

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.